polish addenda

January 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

…last December I wrote a piece: Piotr Uklański: Biało-Czerwona. In it I discovered that the eagle in the coat of arms (of Poland) had been re-crowned after the fall of communism in 1989. I had no idea I’d ever see an image of the restoration of the crown, until I found it featured in the Berlin magazine (pictured above) 032c. …odd that a crown should stand as a symbol for democracy. I suppose that isn’t any more unusual than the “High Noon” Gary Cooper image that was used for Solidarność (Solidarity):

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading polish addenda at luctor et emergo.

meta

