luctor et emergo

December 22, 2007 § 2 Comments

wapen.jpgle.jpgluctor_et_emergo_uit_almelo.jpg

I struggle I arise.

 …motto of Zeeland Province in the Netherlands

‘luctor et emergo’ – I wrestle and emerge – a motto, which was adopted after Zeeland fought itself free from Spain with the help of the English, 1585

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to luctor et emergo

  • Steve says:

    Rise above.

    I like that motto. I might steal it when you’re not looking, but that would be hypocritical to the message. I really relate to it though.

  • aurelio says:

    …think of it this way: the Dutch stole it from the Latins, I stole it from the Dutch & your use of it will keep it alive too!

    Thank you for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading luctor et emergo at luctor et emergo.

meta

